“Upgrade required” and missing SQL aliases a funny little fact

I encountered an interesting issue today when I was scaling out a existing SharePoint 2010 farm. So after installing SharePoint, several language packs, service pack and CUs I successfully joined the server to the farm.

No issues so far.

When I was checking the “servers in farm” link within Central admin I found right next to my newly joined server a big red “Upgrade required” message. But it wasn’t highlighting what component it wants to have upgraded. Normally this component would also be highlighted in red.

So I double checked my installation and made sure that I had all components installed properly, I even ran the configuration wizard one more time. Still the same result.

So my next step was to force SharePoint to write me some upgradelogs and give me some more details on what it actually was missing.

For that I used the commandline psconfig:

psconfig.exe -cmd upgrade -inplace b2b -force -cmd applicationcontent -install -cmd installfeatures

Once it was done I checked Central admin for the upgrade status and found the upgrade failed as expected but now SharePoint wrote me some nice upgradelog which I could look into.

After checking the log I found a few errors telling me that SharePoint tries to upgrade databases located under a certain SQL alias but it could not find them.

So I fired up cliconfg and found the SQL alias not existing after adding it (and also adding it to the x64 version of cliconfg) I just re-ran the SharePoint configuration wizard and after checking the servers in the farm section in central admin tataaaaaa the server was added with a nice grey “no action required” right next to it.

And what is the key takeaway from this? If you use SQL aliases (which I am a pretty big fan of) make sure to have them configured consistent across all your servers and when you see a warning telling you that an “upgrade is required” don’t  immediately think that you have to install software but also check your configuration.

2 responses to ““Upgrade required” and missing SQL aliases a funny little fact”

  1. Vicki says :

    thanks for the post..

Leave a Reply

