Fab40 SharePoint2010 Migration

Today I played a little bit with the Fabulous 40 Templates from Microsoft.

So what I actually did was:

I installed the Fab40 templates on a virtual SharePoint environment (2007) in a clean webapplication and created a SiteCollection from every template.

Then I backed up the content DB of the Webapplication and copied it to a clean SharePoint2010 environment and did an DB Attach upgrade to the database.

After that I tried to save all SiteCollections as templates (which would be .wsp’s in SharePoint2010).

I wasn’t able to save all SiteCollections as .wsp template, but migration worked quiet good as far as I can see.

The cool thing is, that you can still use all the templates which were already deliverd as .wsp, you can’t use the .stp’s anymore but all the former .stp files could be saved as .wsp files. So I guess you can still use the Fab40 on SharePoint2010.

Here you can download the Fab40 (the old .wsp which work under 2010 as well as the migrated .wsp which I created from migrating them)

The following table shows which of the .wsp could be used to create new sites under SharePoint2010 (I found that creating SiteCollections based on the .wsp isn’t always working as well as creating Subsites under TeamSites etc. the best experience I made was with creating Fab40 sites as subsites of an collaboration portal site)

Table

DOWNLOAD

Disclaimer: I haven’t tested the .wsp or the migrated templates for their functionality and I don’t take any guarantee on them working… as always deploy stuff from the internet in a testing environment first and then AFTER testing move it over to production.

2 responses to “Fab40 SharePoint2010 Migration”

  1. Mieszkania Suwalki says :

    I seldom comment, but i did some searching and wound up here Fab40 SharePoint2010 Migration | SharePoint Soldiers. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it seem like a few of the responses come across like left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Could you list of every one of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • SPSoldier says :

      Hey thank you for your comment. I really should put up stuff like my Twitter handle so people can reach out to me easier… Until I have this in the site feel free to follow me on Twitter @spsoldier

Leave a Reply

